Here is a breakdown of what should do now if you’ve been injured an auto accident:
1. Feeling a little Sore, or a lot?
Go to the hospital. Even if you think your injuries aren’t that serious, they could be worse than you think. Getting checked out by a medical professional is a good idea to make sure you’re okay.
2. Take Pictures
Cars get fixed, and bruises and scratches heal. So, take pictures of the damage to your vehicle and to you. If you can, take pictures of the scene itself and the other car. Have something strange happen at the scene, like the two cars being pulled apart by a tow-truck? Take a video.
3. Start a Notebook
You might think you will remember every little event that happens in relation to the accident. But, the average personal injury case can take months to complete. By the time those months have gone by, you might forget about the sharp pain you felt in your back or the events you had to miss because of your injury. A notebook can help you remember those details.
4. Get a Free Consultation
Our personal injury firm in Salem, Oregon has been handling claims for over 20 years and would be happy to talk withRecently in an accident salem, OR you about your case. We over free consultations and can give you some advice about your case. If you choose to retain us, we work on a contingent basis in personal injury. This means that if we don’t recover for you, you don’t have to pay us a fee.
5. Start to deal with the insurance companies
Contact your insurance company to report what happened. They will ask you some questions and open a claim. This is important for medical treatment as well, since your insurance company will pay for the treatment you need right away. If the other party is at fault, your company will be reimbursed by the at-fault party’s insurance. While speaking with your insurance company is important, do not speak with the other side’s until you have obtained representation. What you say to them can and will be used against you.
6. Report Accident to the DMV
In some circumstances, you must report the accident to the DMV within 72 hours. The circumstances are: (1) damage to the vehicle you were driving is over $1500.00; (2) damage to any vehicle is over $1500.00 and any vehicle was towed from the scene as a result of damages from this accident; (3) injury or death resulted from this accident; OR (4) damages to any one person’s property other than a vehicle involved in this accident is over $1500.00. If any of these occurred in your accident, you must file a report with DMV.
7. Follow the doctor’s orders
If the doctor prescribes physical therapy or other treatment, follow through with what the doctor orders. While you may feel like your injuries aren’t that bad right now, they could be aggravated ;ater on if they are not treated early on. Plus, if you wait, you may be prohibited from the statute of limitations from making a claim on your injuries.
8. Watch the date
Oregon has a two year statute of limitations on personal injury claims. If you wait longer than two years after your accident, you will be barred from making a legal claim. If you are getting close to the two-year mark, act quickly so that your statute of limitations does not preclude you from getting the recovery you deserve.
Already in the process? If you’re already in the process of dealing with your claim, give us a call for a free consultation. You can contact us at any time during the process. If you were just in an accident yesterday, we can talk with you about the process and keep track of your records for you throughout the case. If the accident was a year ago and you’re fully recovered, give us a call. We can organize your claim and work to get you the best outcome possible. Or anywhere in between – we can guide you through the complicated insurance process and make sure that you get the fullest compensation for your injuries.
Contact us today by email or call us at 503-399-8967 if you need help with you accident.